Faculty: To add new openings or delete current openings, email Sharon Johnston at sharontj@uab.edu.

 
Job CodeDepartmentContact
K11030Anesthesiology

Mentor and PI:  Dr. Jean-Francois Pittet.  Contact Dr. Karen Iles. Address: BMR2 322 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2172; Fax: (205) 934-7447.

D120031Anesthesiology

Mentor:  Judy Creighton, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 205-934-7704,  jcreighton@uab.edu

K11161Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Mentor:  Igor Chesnokov, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Medicine, 552A Kaul Human Genetics Building, 770 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35294.  205-934-6974 (office), 205-934-6975 (lab), 205-975-2188 (fax)  ichesnokov@biochemistry.uab.edu

G11022Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Mentor:  Dr. Kejin Hu, iPS Laboratory, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, hukejin@gmail.com

J11141Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, Stem Cell Institute

Mentor:  Keith E. Giles, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, 770 SHEL, Birmingham, AL 35294, 205-934-4753, kegiles@uab.edu

 

H11081Biology

Mentor: Trygve Tollefsbol, Ph.D., D.O., Professor  Mailing address: CH 175A 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-1170  Telephone: (205) 934-4573 Fax: (205) 975-6097  E-mail: Trygve@uab.edu   

H11083Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Dr. Yuhua Song Assistant Professor  Mailing address: SHEL 803 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2182  Telephone: (205) 996-6939 Fax: (205) 975-4919 E-mail: yhsong@uab.edu  

I11220Biostatistics

Mentor: Hemant K. Tiwari, Ph.D. Statistical Genetics Department of Biostatistics Mailing address: RPHB 327 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-0022 Telephone: (205) 934-4907 Fax: (205) 975-2541 E-mail: htiwari@uab.edu

H11082Cardiovascular Disease

Program Director: Suzanne Oparil, M.D. Program Director, Professor of Medicine, Physiology and Biophysics, Director, UAB Vascular Biology and Hypertension Program  Mailing address: UAB Hypertension Program 703 19th Street South, ZRB 1034, Birmingham, AL 35294-0007 Telephone: (205) 934-2580 Fax: (205) 975-5119  E-mail: soparil@uab.edu  

K11013Cell Biology

Mentor: Jianbo Wang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Dept. of Cell Biology, MCLM 310, 1530 3rd Ave. South, Birmingham, AL 35294, Telephone: (205) 996-9594 E-mail: j18wang@uab.edu

K11162Chemistry

Mentor: James C. Patterson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, CHEM 256, Birmingham, AL 35294-1240, 205-975-9146, Fax: 205-934-2543, email: pattersj@uab.edu

G11013Chemistry

Mentor:  Sergey Vyazovkin, Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 901 S. 14th Street, Birmingham, AL 35294, (205) 975-9410, fax (205) 975-0070

H11085Dermatology

Mentor/Principal Investigator: Santosh K. Katiyar, Ph.D. Associate Professor Department of Dermatology  Mailing address: VH 557 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-0019  Tel: (205) 975-2608 Fax: (205) 975-5745 E-mail: skatiyar@uab.edu  

I11130Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Department

Mentor:  Dr. Bharat K. Soni, Chairman, Department of Mechanical Engineering, 257 Business-Engineering Complex, 1530 Third Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35294-4461, (205) 934-8460

H11024Environmental Health Sciences

Mentor:  Julia M. Gohlke, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health.  Mailing address:  RPHB 530; 1530 3rd Av. S, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022.  Telephone:  205-934-7060 Email:  jgohlke@uab.edu

H11086Environmental Health Sciences

Mentor: Rui-Ming Liu, DABT, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Health Sciences, 534 Ryals Building, 1665 University Blvd., Birmingham, AL 35294-0022.  205-934-7028 telephone, 205-975-6341 fax.  rliu@uab.edu

 

D12017Epidemiology

Mentor:  Brahim Aissani, PhD., Department of Epidemiology, 217J Ryals Building, 1665 University Blvd., Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, (205) 975-8663 E-mail: baissani@uab.edu

E12009Genetics

Mentor:  Bob Kesterson, PhD, Associate Professor of Genetics, Director, Transgenic Mouse Facility, Kaul Human Genetics Building, Suite 602A, Birmingham, AL 35294-0024, Kesterso@uab.edu

D120091Genetics

Mentor:  Keshav K. Singh, PhD, Joy and Bill Harbert Endowed Chair, Professor of Genetics, Pathology and Environmental Health, University of Alabama at Birmingham, KAUL 620, 1530 3rd Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35294-00024, mito@uab.edu

 

H11087Genetics

Mentor: Chiquito Crasto, Department of Genetics, University of Alabama at Birmingham.  ccrasto@genetics.uab.edu.

 

H1108Genetics

Mentor:  Kai Jiao, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Genetics, Division of Research, 720 20th Street S., KAUL 768, Birmingham, AL 35294-0024, (205) 996-4198, kjiao@uab.edu

H11088Gerontology, Geriatrics and Palliative Care

Program DirectorCaroline Harada, M.D. Assistant Professor,  Mailing address: Attn: Peter Bosworth CH 19 201 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2041  Telephone: (205) 934-9261 Fax: (205) 934-7354  Bosworth@uab.edu  

K11140Health Services/Comparative Effectiveness Research Training Program (HSR/CERTP)

Mentors: Kenneth Saag, MD, MSc, PD/PI and Monika Safford, MD, Co-Directors.  For questions regarding eligibility, program requirements and the application process, please contact Ryan Outman routman@uab.edu.  To request an application packet, please contact Joan Hargrove at Jhargrove@dopm.uab.edu

 

H11089Hematology / Oncology

Mentor/Principal Investigator: Randall S. Davis, M.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine, Microbiology, and Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics

Division of Hematology/Oncology

Mailing address: SHEL 412 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2182

Telephone: (205) 934-1522 Fax: (205) 934-1875

E-mail: randall.davis@ccc.uab.edu

 

K11141Immunology/ Rheumatology

Mentor/Principal InvestigatorRobert P. Kimberly, M.D. Professor  Mailing address: SHEL 176, 1530 3RD AVENUE S, BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2182  Telephone: (205) 934-0245  E-mail: rpk@uab.edu    

K11142Immunology/ Rheumatology

Mentor/Principal InvestigatorRobert P. Kimberly, M.D. Professor  Mailing address: SHEL 176, 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2182  Telephone: (205) 934-0245  E-mail: rpk@uab.edu

K11143Immunology/ Rheumatology

Mentor/Principal Investigator:  Robert P. Kimberly, M.D. Professor  Mailing address: SHEL 176, 1530 3RD AVENUE S, BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2182  Telephone: (205) 934-0245  E-mail: rpk@uab.edu

F9030Immunology/Rheumatology

Co-Mentors/Principal Investigators:  Kenneth G. Sagg, M.D., MSc., Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology Director, UAB CERTs.  Mailing address:  FOT 820, 1530 3rd Avenue S., Birmingham, AL 35294-3408  Telephone (205) 996-9784 Fax: (205) 975-6859  - Jeffrey R. Curtis. M.D., M.P.H., Assistant Professor Medicine and Associate Director, UAB CERTs.  Mailing address: FOT 840, 1530 3rd Avenue S., Birmingham, AL 35294-3408  Telephone (205) 934-7727 Fax (205) 975-6849

E-mail Dr. Saag ksaag@uab.edu or Dr. Curtis: jcurtis@uab.edu

 

F11002Lung Biology and Translational Medicine

Mentor:  Victor J. Thannickal, M.D., Professor of Medicine,  Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine  Mailing Address:  UAB Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine  1900 University Blvd. THT-422, Birmingham, AL  35294-0006  Telephone:  (205) 975-6376  Fax:  (205) 934-1721; Email:  vjthan@uab.edu

F11009Lung Biology and Translational Medicine

Mentor:  Veena B. Antony, M.D., Professor of Medicine,  Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine  Mailing Address:  UAB Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine  1900 University Blvd. THT-413, Birmingham, AL  35294-0006  Telephone:  (205) 975-3258  Fax:  (205) 934-1721; Email:  veena.antony@ccc.uab.edu

K11020Medicine - Atherosclerosis Research Unit

Mentor: Jere P. Segrest, M.D. Professor Mailing address: BDB 630 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-0012 Telephone: (205) 934-4070 Fax: (205) 975-8079 E-mail : segrest@uab.edu  

D12003Medicine - Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care

Mentor:  Steven M. Rowe, MD, MSPH, Associate Professor, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 768 MCLM, 1918 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294, Tel:  205-934-9640, Fax:  205-934-7593, E-mail:smrowe@uab.edu

J11140Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease

Mentor: Lufang Zhou, PhD, Assistant Professor, Division of Cardiovascular Disease, Department of Medicine, ZRB 306, Birmingham, AL 35294  205-975-3764, lzhou@cardiology.uab.edu

 

A12024Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy & Critical Care Medicine

Mentor:  Jaroslaw Zmijewski Ph.D.  Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical care Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham, BMR2 304, 901 19th St. South, Birmingham, Alabama 35294, Tel: 205-934-7793, Fax: 205-934-7437, E-mail: zmijewsk@uab.edu.

C11160Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine

Mentor:  Gang Liu, MD, Ph.D, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical care Medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham, BMR2 304, 901 19th St. So., Birmingham, Alabama 35294, Tel: 205-975-8932, Fax: 205-934-7437, E-mail: gliu@uab.edu.

K11160Microbiology

Mentor:  John F. Kearney, Ph.D. Professor Mailing address: SHEL 401,  1825 University Blvd,  BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-3300 Telephone: (205) 934-6557 Fax: (205) 934-1875 E-mail: jfk@uab.edu

 

H1109Microbiology

Mentor: Dr. Allan J. Zajac Associate Professor  Mailing address: BBRB 446 1530 3RD AVENUE S BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2170  Telephone: (205) 975-5644 Fax: (205) 975-5645 E-mail: azajac@uab.edu   

B12002Microbiology

Mentor:  Michael Niederweis, PhD, Professor, Co-Director of the Microbiology Graduate Program, 845 19th Street South, BBRB 609, Birmingham, AL 35294-2710,205-996-2711 phone, 205-996-4008 fax, mnieder@uab.edu

C12026Microbiology

Mentor:  Sunnie Thompson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology, BBRB 466/Box 21, 1530 Third Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35294-2170, (205) 996-7101, sunnie@uab.edu

E11020Neurology

Mentor:  Nita A. Limdi, PharmD, PhD, MSPH, Associate Professor, Department of Neurology, 1235 Jefferson Tower, Birmingham AL 35249-4385, (205) 934-4385, nlimdi@uab.edu

 

H11011Neurology

Mentor: Erik Roberson, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, 1106 SHEL, 1825 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294.  205-996-6329, Fax 205-934-2493.  email:  eroberson@uab.edu

 

H110112Neurology

Mentor: Erik Roberson, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, 1106 SHEL, 1825 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294.  205-996-6329.  Fax 205-934-2493.  email:  eroberson@uab.edu.

E12022Neurology, Center for Neurodegeneration and Experimental Therapeutics

Mentor:  Michelle Gray, PhD, Associate Professor, Center for Neurodegeneration and Experimental Therapeutics, 1719 6th Avenut S., CIRC 525, Birmingham, AL 35294, phone 205-996-4748, fax 205-996-6580, mccgray@uab.edu

D120092Nutrition Obesity Research Center

Mentor/Principal Investigator: David B. Allison, Ph.D. Distinguished Professor & Associate Dean for Science, School of Public Health and Director, Nutrition Obesity Research Center (NORC), Mailing address: RPHB 130A 1665 University Blvd., BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-0022  Telephone: (205) 975-9169 Fax: (205) 975-5484  E-mail: Dallison@uab.edu 

H110114Ophthalmology

Mentor:  Yuhua Zhang, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology, 700 South 18th Street, CEFH DB 107, 0009, Birmingham, AL 35233,  email:  Zhanghua@uab.edu

H110113Oral & Maxillofaciial Surgery

Mentor: Amjad Javed, PhD, Professor & Director, SDB 714, 1919 7th Ave South, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry, Birmingham, AL 35294-0007, Javeda@uab.edu

 

H11017Oral Biology

Mentor: Hui Wu, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Mailing address: UAB SCHOOL OF DENTISTRY, SDB 802,1530 3RD AVENUE SOUTH BIRMINGHAM AL 35294-2170 Telephone: (205) 996-2392 Fax: (205) 975-4431 E-mail: hwu@uab.edu  

K11014Pathology

Mentor: Zdenek Hel, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Mailing address: 845 19th Street South, BBRB 730, Birmingham, AL 35294-2170; Telephone: (205) 975-7079; E-mail: zhel@uab.edu.  

H110171Pathology

Mentor: Selvarangan Ponnazhagan, PhD, Professor, Department of Pathology, LHRB 513, Birmingham, AL 35294-0007, pons@uab.edu

  

H110172Pathology

Mentor: Yi-Ping Li, Ph.D., Jay McDonald Endowed Professor, Department of Pathology, Senior Vice Director for Research, UAB Center for Metabolic Bone Disease, University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), Shelby Biomedical Research Building, Room 810, 1825 University Blvd, Birmingham AL 35294-2182, Office (205) 975-2606, Lab (205) 975-2605, e-mail: ypli@uab.edu, Web page: http://pathuab.infomedia.com/faculty2.asp

 

D12009Pathology

Mentor:  Majd Zayzafoon, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Pathology, Director, Center for Metabolic Bone Disease, Phone:  (205) 934-5574; E-mail: mzayzafoon@uab.edu

H110174Pathology

Mentor:  Zdenek Hel, Ph.D., Assistant Professor - Mailing address:  845 19th Street South, BBRB 730, Birmingham, AL 35294-2170; Telephone:  (205) 975-7079; E-mail: zhel@uab.edu

A11190Physiology and Biophysics

Mentor:  Kevin L. Kirk, PhD, Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, 982B MCLM, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL 35294-0005, klkirk@uab.edu

H11018Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology

Mentor Karen Cropsey, Psy.D., Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology, University of Alabama School of Medicine
401 Beacon Parkway West, Birmingham, AL 35209 (205) 916-0135 x505
kcropsey@beapsy1.his.uab.edu

H110173Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical Care

Mentor: Steven M Rowe, Asst Professor, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary/Allergy/Critical. 

D12024Radiation Oncology

Mentor:  Shih-Hsin Yang, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology, 176F HSROC Room 2232B, 1700 6th Avenue South, Birmingham, AL 35249-6832, 295-934-2762 phone, 205-975-0784 fax, eyang@uab.edu

K11001Surgery

Contact: Carolyn Maddox, Administrative Associate for Kirby I. Bland, M.D., Program Director and Pablo Arnoletti, M.D., Associate Program Director Department of Surgery.  Mailing address: 2512 NORTH PAVILION 1802 6TH AVENUE SOUTH BIRMINGHAM AL 35294  Telephone: (205) 934-2089 Fax: (205) 996-7009  E-mail: carolyn.maddox@ccc.uab.edu

H110241Surgery, Center for Surgical Research

Contact:   Irshad H. Chaudry, PhD, Director, Center for Surgical Research, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL, G094 Volker Hall.  Email:  Bobbi.Smith@ccc.uab.edu

B12014Surgery/Division of Urology

Mentor:  Sunil Sudarshan, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Surgery, Division of Urology

C12013Vision Sciences

Mentor:  Om P. Srivastava, PhD, Professor, Department of Vision Sciences, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL 35294  Fax: (205) 934-5725 Phone: (205) 975-7630 srivasta@uab.edu